Tinkers Falls

Not far from the Tully exit on Interstate 81 in the Labrador Hollow Unique Area is a little gem I’ve been wanting to visit for a couple of years now – it’s probably a good thing I waited because I think we visited at the perfect time.

DSC_5457

Just a 1/4 mile walk on a fairly level, well-worn path brings you to this little beauty!!

DSC_5460

However to get up to the ledge behind the falls requires you to channel your inner mountain goat as it’s a short but steep hike up to the wide-enough-for-a-tripod ledge.  Fortunately we visited before the constant rains of the past few weeks – I imagine the water is much higher now making the trek up the hill and across the creek much more dangerous and probably unadvisable.

DSC_5466

I’ve been spending some time focusing on the picture within the picture.  Or said another way I’ve been focusing on the patterns the water and rocks make within some of the local waterfalls.  This is what I came up with at Tinkers.

DSC_5473

I like how there is one line leading all the way across – similar to a horizon.  I also like the mossy green rocks in what would mainly be a brown and white picture.  Just something I’ve been working on lately.

6 thoughts on “Tinkers Falls

  1. If u had kept walking uphill for another mile, u would’ve gotten to where a bunch of hang gliders take off from… It’s an awesome view of a small lake

  2. So cool! Mom & I visited the labrador hollow unique area pond but it was raining so we skipped the tinker falls – I will have to go back now. It’s a very short drive from Caroline & Joe’s house in Lafayette too! Great photos as always.

Leave a Reply

