Letchworth State Park Part II

If you’ve been following me for a while you might remember hubby and I took a fall trip to Letchworth State Park in 2011.  You can see some of the shots here.  At the time I was quite dissatisfied with the huge runoff that was going on – lots and lot of rushing muddy water.

DSC_2816Not so this time around.  Even though the day was intermittently cold, rainy, snowy, sunny, or all of the above depending on which direction one looked, the water flow was much less than my prior visit, allowing for many different shots.  Such as this one above where I’m actually sitting on a rock that was likely under water my first visit.

DSC_2857The park looked much, much different with green as opposed to the autumn colors I’ve seen before.  Not really sure why this came as a surprise to me – I guess I just had the autumn pictures in my head and hadn’t yet adjusted them for the seasons so this very green park came as something of a surprise to me.

DSC_2897No trip to Letchworth is complete without stopping at Archery Overlook!

DSC_2845-EditLooking across Wolf Creek into the gorge as storm clouds roll in (again).

DSC_2838

Ironically I think this is my favorite shot of the day and there’s no water here anywhere.  I actually lowered the clarity here quite a bit to give the green a more “carpet” feel and the leaves less definition – this is very much against my usual inclination to have everything clear and sharp – but I really like how this turned out.  I wouldn’t be surprised to find this one framed on a wall at some point!

There’s still time to join Andy at this coming weekend’s second Letchworth Photowalk – full info can be found here.

One thought on “Letchworth State Park Part II

Leave a Reply

