Canandaigua Boathouses

I don’t know what it is about the boathouses at Canandaigua Lake that I find so intriguing.   Some of them are in disrepair, some are quite lovely, they can be somewhat challenging to photograph (a car pulled up during this 30 second exposure hence the light on the boats in the harbor).DSC_1615

Many of them date back to the early 1900’s.  I found this fact interesting – the owners are not allowed to live in their boathouses full time – I’m not sure I’d ever be able to leave!

DSC_1611

But they are historic – and they are a reminder of days gone by.  There’s just something romantic about these carefully maintained structures that catches the fancy of myself and many others.

DSC_1556

But just in case we get all caught up in the history and bygone era the boathouses represent – if we make a 180 degree turn with our camera we find development (and beer!)

DSC_1609

I love the way the neon from the local tavern was reflecting across the water!!  If I hadn’t needed to drive over an hour home I would’ve stopped by for a pint (or two!)

 

2 thoughts on “Canandaigua Boathouses

  1. So, no one every sleeps over in them, huh? 😉 I like your compositions and choice of time when to photograph them. Adds to the “oldness” of the boathouses. A very fortuitous light painting on the boats, too.

Leave a Reply

