Watkins Glen from the Third Floor

It would appear that Scott was not the only one who was thinking of shooting a higher perspective this weekend…..

Back in January I spent some time at ground level at Watkins Glen Harbor at the south end of Seneca Lake.

Watkins Glen BLue Hour

What a difference a few floors make:

DSC_9652-Edit

From the ground the lights of the salt mill are completely hidden.  Hubby booked us a lakeside balcony room at The Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel so all I had to do was wait for blue hour (while enjoying some Finger Lakes wine in our room), walk out the door, set up the tripod, and start shooting.

DSC_9654

Just realized how dirty my sensor is – ICK!!!

Didn’t spend a lot of time taking pictures however.  Even when you’re home on a Friday evening enjoying a glass of wine – as is typical in my house – you don’t realize that your brain is constantly is there laundry to do, what’s for dinner, do I need to vacuum this weekend, what needs to be cleaned?  To not have that aspect of life – to be able to truly relax, drink some wine, watch some TV – I just wanted to enjoy the moment and not pressure myself to go shooting.  Perhaps that makes me less of a hobbyist or even less of a photographer but sometimes I just want to sit on my butt, you know???  🙂

DSC_9653So I think I got the best of both worlds.  I got to enjoy some real relaxation and I got to practice some photography – who could ask for anything more?  Thanks honey for a fabulous weekend!

2 thoughts on “Watkins Glen from the Third Floor

Leave a Reply

