Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

So we’ve been tasked to show our favorite pictures from 2012.  If we can chose one per month.  This is going to be tough.  Fortunately I tend to load all my favs to Flickr so at least that will help me be organized.

January – The one and only snowfall I was able to get out to shoot during – probably because it was our one and only snowfall all year!!

East Hill Snow

February- See what I mean? Two weeks later there was no snow to be found!

Long Point Sunset HDR

March found me on vacation in Florida!

Great White Egret

In April I took a trip to the 9/11 Memorial. Tough to capture the emotions on the place – I did the best I could.

9/11 Memorial

In May we started the big kitchen project and picture taking time was quite limited – but I did manage to get out to my yard for this shot

Columbine

In June I managed a trip to the EM Mills Rose Garden in Syracuse

Sunset Rose

In July things started to slow down in the kitchen so I got to Watkins Glen State Park where I took this HDR. It went on to win first prize in the digitally enhanced category of a local photo contest!

Rainbow HDR

In August I attended Longwood Gardens Field of Light display…

Field of Light at Longwood Gardens

September was the month of travel for me – over 6,000 shots later this one is my favorite

Lower Falls of Yellowstone

October found me at Watkins Glen again

Autumn in Watkins Glen

I didn’t get out much in November – leaves were pretty much gone, weather getting cooler, days getting shorter. So there wasn’t much for me to chose from in November. But this one is my favorite.

Blending of Leaves & Water

December found me back at Longwood Gardens for their Christmas display – it was so beautiful

Tree House Christmas

So that’s my year. One thing I’ve noticed is that photography has opened up a whole new world of travel for me. I’ve experienced so many more places and things because I wanted to go take the picture. Photography has also given me a greater appreciation for the beauty that surrounds me every day at (or near) home – I live in such an amazing place.

Best wishes in 2013!!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

Leave a Reply

