Chittenango Falls State Park – part 2

Last spring I visited Chittenango Falls State Park and was very disappointed that the gorge trail was still closed for winter and I couldn’t get to the base of the falls for photos.  If you don’t remember you can click here to refresh your memory.

What a difference a few months can make!!  I was thrilled that I wouldn’t have to jump the fence (as was my plan, I’ll admit) to get to the base this trip.  And I was rewarded with fall colors to boot!!

It was a gray, overcast day which actually works out better for waterfall shots as one can slow down the shutter speed to get that cotton candy look.  Also the overcast skies helped to cut the glare on the damp leaves.

The trail to the base is short (less than 1/2 a mile) but quite steep in spots as well as being slippery when covered with mud and wet leaves so if you go wear shoes with good traction just to be safe.

I set up an HDR shot just for fun – not sure I like it any better or worse than the others but I think the HDR effect does add interest to the colors of the leaves in the gorge.  HDR doesn’t always look “normal” but I do often like the effect it creates – I need to remember to set up more HDR shots in the future.

2 thoughts on “Chittenango Falls State Park – part 2

  1. Very nice. This brings back memories of childhood when I used to sometimes fish here below the falls in the days I lived in Manlius. The creek was certainly running on this day. I look forward to more from central New York.

Leave a Reply

