Worldwide Photowalk Ithaca Style

Last weekend I had the pleasure of participating in Scott Kelby’s Fifth Annual Worldwide Photowalk.  In case you don’t know Scott Kelby arranges via his website, numerous photowalks around the world.  For the 2012 version there were 1,339 photowalks worldwide with 31,928 participants.  Pretty cool that I was participating in a photowalk with 31,927 of my closest friends!!

This year the Ithaca version of the photowalk took place at the Ithaca Farmer’s Market and was hosted by local photographer Dave Burbank.  Dave did a fantastic job – he’s very knowledgeable and shared his knowledge in a way that was helpful and relevant as well as learning all our names!

One of the things Dave wanted to know from each of us was our goals for the photowalk.  I tend to hesitate to make goals like this because I find that it limits me – I tend to focus on the goal and become inflexible.  So my goal was to have some fun!  And I did.

I also got out of my comfort zone a bit.  I’ve been to the Farmer’s Market with my camera before and found myself somewhat uninspired.  Not so this time around.  I still took some shots of the flowers but I also did some product shots as well as a few candid people shots too.

Below was my favorite shot of the day – the light glowing through the honey was amazing! 

What does anyone think of the crop?  It was hard to determine the best spot since anyway I did it I was cutting off part of a jar.

Leave a Reply

