9/11 Memorial

Last weekend I visited the 9/11 Memorial for the first time.  It is serene despite being located in an active construction site and poignant in a way I can’t describe.  Being there means something different to everyone.

I could go on about the photographic elements of the shots and the things I wish I’d done differently but I don’t want to take away from the effect I hope the shots convey.  So I’m just going to share the images and you can take away whatever you take away with you without any influence from me.

9/11 Memorial

9/11 Memorial B&W

9/11 Memorial

They say a picture is worth 1,000 words.  There are many images that I saw in the days that followed 9/11 that have stayed with me for ten plus years.  The fear and overwhelming sadness I felt as I heard the news out of New York City, Washington DC, and the fields of Pennsylvania has tempered in the past ten years but those feelings were still there with me as I walked around this memorial.  And as I tried to understand the fear that the names of the people on the memorial must have felt.  And the courage that they exhibited.  My heart goes out to them and to their families who were left to carry on – may peace be with you.

2 thoughts on “9/11 Memorial

Leave a Reply

