100!!

This is my 100th post – I can’t believe it.  I had all of these grand plans for this week – all of these great blogging ideas since I wasn’t working I’d have lots of time, etc.  That didn’t work out so well at all!!  I’ve pretty much been a bum!

I did get Photomatix Pro 4.1 for Christmas and installed it today.  I’m still learning it, playing with it, but this is my first HDR shot. 

I started with this shot of Buttermilk Falls with two other shots at -1 and +1 EV.  You can see the sky and the leaves are great at the top of the forge but the rest is very dark.

 

Once I loaded all three shots into the software and merged them I worked with the preset effects to start to get an idea of what the software will do and what sort of settings I might prefer. 

Not bad – what else have we got?

The above is called grunge. Interesting. But not my style.

Now that’s much better. This is called Compressor-Default.  I definitely like the colors of the leaves in the upper gorge.  I wanted to show you how this looked straight out of Photomatix.  Now I think I’ll load it into PSE and do a little color correction – it seems too cool to me.

I’d like to thank you all for helping reach the 100 posts milestone.  It’s been a blast – I can’t wait to see what happens in 2012!!

3 thoughts on “100!!

  1. Woo hoo! 100! I’ve got to think that WordPress’s average is about a 10th of that… congratulations, I think your hard work is paying off. Looking forward to future posts!

Leave a Reply

