The Value of the Crop

Nope – I’m not talking about horses.  I’m talking about getting rid of some of those pesky people that are in the edge of my pictures!!

A couple of months ago (because I am ridiculously behind in my processing) I attended the lovely wedding of my friends Cheech (aka John) and Tara.  Fortunately for me, they had hired a professional photographer so my only purpose was to be a guest and maybe capture a few of those shots that the primary photographer might miss.

I am pleased with my results – especially since this is the first wedding I’ve attended with the camera.  One thing I discovered is that I walked away with a lot of pictures of the children in attendance.  Kids are not really my thing – they’re kind of wiggly – so I don’t know if it was the combination of them wearing their good clothes and being on their best behavior or what – but I walked away with several nice shots of the kids from the wedding.

Which leads me to the subject of my post – CROPPING!!!  So many of these shots started out with lots of distracting elements but with a quick crop (one of the easiest tools to use) Voila!!

What started as this:

Became this:

I had so much fun watching him express his boredom and his disgust at the mushiness!! I’m sure his parents were anything but thrilled though!!

What are the chances that the ring bearer and the flower girl will both behave for the camera at the same time? NONE! But what was this:

Became this:

Congratulations Cheech and Tara – may your life together be long and wonderful!!

One thought on “The Value of the Crop

Leave a Reply

