Wear Suncreen aka Cancer Sucks

I had two titles bouncing around in my head for this blog post and I just couldn’t decide – so I went with both.

If you follow my blog regularly you know I’ve been kind of AWOL lately. On September 1, 2011 my father-in-law was diagnosed with an inoperable Stage 4 brain tumor. Something like that has a way of rearranging your priorities and my blogging (temporarily) fell to the side as my husband and I tried to cope with the diagnosis and everything that went with it.  It is believed that this is the result of a melanoma he had removed from his back four years ago – hence the “wear sunscreen” title.

On October 2, 2011 my father-in-law lost his all to brief battle. So today as I resume my blogging “duties” I wanted to memorialize the man that I only got to spend nine years with – but whom I will never forget.

Disclaimer: these are all old family photos – if I knew who shot them I would give credit but I don’t. I just know it wasn’t me.

The best picture we could find - this captures his personality perfectly

 

This is a picture he sent home to his girlfriend/wife (I'm not sure of the timing) with a note that he loved her.

We think this was taken at camp somewhere in Southeast Asia

A formal military pose

A fairly current shot - he hated it when lillies would grow up in his pond

If anyone has any suggestions re: software that would clean up some of these old, scratched, lowres images I would be glad to hear them.

RIP Ernie – you will be missed by many.

3 thoughts on “Wear Suncreen aka Cancer Sucks

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss 😦

    As far as software, I use Corel PaintShopPhoto Pro X3. It has a “scratch remover tool” that would clean up the photos a bit. You can download a 30-day trial version at corel.com

  2. What a truly classy tribute to a man who thought the world of you.
    Thank YOU for the being his hero and giving us all and extra 4 years with him!!!

  3. Yes, cancer does suck. I’m not sure if it was a blessing his battle was brief. I watched my sister battle her brain cancer for two years and the last months were very hard. Not that any death isn’t. Bless him for his time and his service to our country.

Leave a Reply

