Longwood Conservatory Macros

I know it has taken me forever to get back to my Longwood Gardens pictures – so many pictures, so little time to process them. And let’s face it – I’d rather be shooting pictures than processing them! As you may remember I rented a Nikon 60mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Macro specifically for this trip – and this is the only lens I used while in the garden.

So I thought I’d share some of my favorite macros from the trip. All of these were shot inside the Conservatory, and this collection does not include the orchids – they deserve a post all their own!

Gerber Daisy - I swear I did nothing to make this flower more vibrant - in fact I tried to tone it down a little because it seemed to be just exploding off the page. Located in the Mediterranean Garden

I read after my visit (naturally) that many photographers take an additional picture of the plant's name to help them keep track - wish I'd thought of that before because I'm not sure about what this one is - sorry!

The Rose Garden had been recently pruned in preparation for Longwood Garden's Christmas display so I only have a few photos from there. Not sure this one's exactly in focus - but I liked the softness of it

Gerber Daisy

Another Gerber Daisy - this one was located right next to the red one above in the Mediterranean Garden

No idea

And another one I don't remember what it is. But I liked that I could pick up the little hairs with the Macro lens.

Hibiscus Macro

The beautiful Hibiscus greeted me as I entered the east end of the Conservatory - what better way to get started!

5 thoughts on “Longwood Conservatory Macros

  1. Gorgeous colors here! So what did you think of the macro lens?
    (I never did end up renting the telephoto I wanted for vacation – the time just came and went on me too quickly!)

    • Hi Karma-

      I liked it and I had a lot of fun with it and I will probably rent it again from time to time – but I don’t need to own it – esp not at that price!! I could’ve/would’ve still gotten good shots with the lenses I own – though obviously they would’ve been different. I wish I’d used my 18-55 more – but time constraints – you know how it goes. Gives me an excuse to go back!!

  2. Pingback: Depth of Field « My Life in CNY

Leave a Reply

