Longwood Gardens!!

You know how long I’ve been looking forward to this trip to Longwood Gardens– and it did not disappoint. In fact, I spent a fair amount of time today trying to figure out when my next trip will be!! Today I’ll just give you a quick overview.

We started in the Conservatory – a 4.5 acre indoor display containing 20 indoor gardens and 5,500 different types of plants. I could’ve spent the entire day in here!!

The Conservatory as seen from the Main Fountain Garden

But I of course did not. Just outside the Conservatory is the main fountain garden. Normally, these fountains have frequent displays choreographed to music. I say normally because I visited on Firework day so some of the fountains were closed to allow for firework setup. Just one of the reason I can’t wait to go back! 🙂

The Main Fountain Garden as seen from the Conservatory Overlook

Just west of the fountains is the idea garden – and it’s exactly that – designed to give the amateur landscaper ideas for their own yards. This was probably my favorite outdoor display – although the Flower Walk was nice too.

The Idea Garden

On the other side of the fountains is the rose garden and the topiary garden. I missed peak rose season, and while visiting the rose garden the skies opened up (the first of many times I’d get rained on during the weekend). Good time for lunch!!

Conservatory - Longwood Gardens

Rose Garden, Topiary Garden, and the Conservatory

This is just the tip of the iceberg re: things I saw at Longwood – there will be many more Longwood posts to come. I have rain covered roses, and other flowers, as well as many more things to describe from the Conservatory. Despite the rain – it was a great experience.

Leave a Reply

