Cornell Botanical Gardens

As I have mentioned in the past, Cornell has a 12 acre botanical garden which contains 12 different theme or specialty gardens.  I have previously discussed Comstock Knoll and the Bower Rhododendron Collection, which are great places to visit in the spring when the rhododendrons and azaleas are all their glory.  But in the summer months, my focus moves to the Young Flower Garden, which is a constantly changing display of annuals, perennials, and shrubbery, including one of the most amazing arbors that I have ever seen.

Purple Coneflower

Purple Coneflower Closeup

Rising Sunflower

I see why they're named Sunflowers now - it really does look like a sun rising!

Purple Gayfeather

Due to the recent construction of the Nevin Welcome Center, a Bioswale was created along the parking lot. Basically a bioswale is a ditch that cleans water. In this case, the water from the parking lot runs into the bioswale and is cleaned as it is filtered through the dense plantings on its way to Beebe Lake. From a photographer’s point of view, the Bioswale is great because you can set up your tripod right on the sidewalk and take pictures – you don’t have to be crouched in the dirt!

Yellow Cornflower

Yellow Coneflower

Purple Coneflower

More purple coneflower - they were abundant in early July

This is one of my favorite places to visit over and over again – it’s always different. And it was a great place to practice with my new extension tubes. And when I get my macro rental – I’ll be back here to learn that before my trip too!!

3 thoughts on “Cornell Botanical Gardens

Leave a Reply

