Sometimes it’s OK to just be a tourist

A few weeks ago, I made my first trip ever to New York City.  This was going to be this amateur photographer’s dream.  I did all the things you’re supposed to do – I scoured flickr and other sites to see the areas I’d be visiting, I whittled down my camera bag to the essentials, I studied maps to determine sun direction at different times, etc.  But in the end – I was just a tourist.  I got off the bus and couldn’t wait to get my camera out and just start shooting. 

Chrysler Building

I didn’t setup shots – I didn’t study my foreground and background, I didn’t look around to see sun direction (not that there was much sun).  I just took pictures.  Pictures to remember my trip by.  Not necessarily great works of art. Pictures of things that were interesting to me. 

Tootsie Pops the size of softballs at FAO Schwartz

I had to be quick as there were people everywhere so sometimes I didn’t get things lined up just right….

Oops - cut of the tiger's nose @ FAO Schwartz - I did manage to get a lady in the background for scale though!!

 
I did get one shot in Bryant Park that I’m pretty proud of….

Bank of America Tower

The top of the Bank of America tower is hidden in the clouds

 But I still had a great day.  Sometimes it’s OK to just be a tourist.

One thought on “Sometimes it’s OK to just be a tourist

Leave a Reply

