The Surgeon by Tess Gerritson

Yesterday I finished reading The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen.  This is book #1 in the Rizzoli and Isles series.  If those names sound familiar there is a TV series featuring these characters on TNT.  I’ve been watching and liking this series but I didn’t realize it was based on a series of novels until a I saw one of the books on a friend’s bookshelf.  However, I’m sort of OCD about reading series books in order, so I went out to eBay and ordered the whole series plus some other Tess Gerritson novels for $15!!  Now I’m working my way though the series.

Of note: it says right on the cover this is a Rizzoli and Isles novel.  However, Isles does not make an appearance in this book.  I began the second book in the series, The Apprentice, last night and the current medical examiner is retiring – I’m assuming Isles will be his replacement – will have to wait and see on that one.

I’m never sure which is better: reading the book first, then watching the movie (or in this case TV series) or vice versa.  In the TV series, Rizzoli is played by the lovely Angie Harmon.  In the book, Rizzoli is a short and unattractive with a large chip on her shoulder so I experienced a sort of disconnect whenever visualizing Rizzoli as I was reading.  Whichever order you prefer – you interpretation is always clouded by what you’ve seen or read in the past (like so many other things in life).

The plot line was very good – and despite comparing it to the TV show as I was reading I very much enjoyed it.  It was fast paced and the characters are human and I look forward to their development as the series moves on.  Though we are given insights into the bad guy’s personality we are more than halfway through the story before we’re able to put a name and a face to the bad guy.  I like books much better when the whodunit part is drawn out.  And The Apprentice begins where The Surgeon left off – continuing to tell our bad guy’s story.  I’m looking forward to this book even more!!!

Happy Reading!

One thought on “The Surgeon by Tess Gerritson

  1. Pingback: Tess Gerritsen Rizzoli & Isles « My Life in CNY

Leave a Reply

