Swedish Hill Blanc de Franc

I love the way wine catches in the light on my back deck!

As promised, my first wine review.  To give you a point of reference, I am generally a dry white wine drinker, which works out well here in the Finger Lakes where Riesling dominates.  I ‘m sure I will review several of the local Rieslings in the future as Riesling tends to be my go to summer wine.

But today I’m going to talk about Swedish Hill’s Blanc de Franc.  Technically, Swedish Hill is one of the more northern wineries located on the west side of Cayuga Lake.   But it is also easily accessible if you’re doing the east side of the Seneca Lake wine trail as well, making it the perfect crossover winery.  They offer a wide variety of wines to taste and buy, from dry to sweet, red to white, and several fruit wines – I like the raspberry and peach the best.

On to today’s featured wine – Blanc de Franc.  This wine is made with the Cabernet Franc grape which many of you may recognize as a common red wine varietal.  It’s the grape’s skins that make Cabernet Franc a red wine; remove the skins and you have a white wine, although as you can hopefully see from the picture this wine does have a tinge of pink to it.  Not enough that I’d call it a rosé but enough that the pink is visible if you are looking for it.   At .75% residual sugar this wine has a just a hint of sweetness so you can really taste the flavors.  Personally I couldn’t put my finger on exactly what I was tasting (I often can’t) but there were a lot of complex flavors going on.  Swedish Hill’s website states that this wine is “bursting with citrus and peach aromas”  – I can see where some cantaloupe flavors were in there now that you give me a hint!!  My husband, who tends to like his wine just a touch sweeter than I did not care much for this wine – “it’s all right” were his words.  Consequently I got to enjoy this wine with several different meals including pasta and sausage, as well as sipping it on its own one night while relaxing on the deck.

So if you’re ever in the neighborhood and you’re thinking you should try out some wine, check out Swedish Hill.  It’s central location and wide variety of wines make it a must see!

Leave a Reply

